Award Night Photos!

For your viewing pleasure, here are the photos of the winners from our Annual Awards Night on January 31st. More photos from the conference, awards night and dancing to The Rock (, can be seen on our Flickr page. We had a really great time and you can read the conference recap here.

And now, on to the awards!

Janka Bielak Medal – presented by Peter Cardy and Paul Bishop of Sail Training International – it is awarded to a person who has made outstanding contributions to international friendship and understanding. 

Awarded to: David Wood 

David Wood (r) and Peter Cardy, Executive Director, STI

Volunteer of the Year: Captain Deborah Hayes, GERONIMO

Capts J. Boulware, D.Hayes, J. Kabak, and Mike Rauworth

Sail Trainer of the Year: CAPT Eric Jones, USCG Barque EAGLE

Dave Wood, CAPT Jones, Mike Rauworth

Sail Training Program of the Year: Ocean Classroom Foundation

D. Pilla, A. Thorne - OCF, M. Rauworth


Sea Education Program of the Year: SEAmester

M. Rauworth, T. Yates & M. Meighan of SEAmester, J. Maggio


Port of the Year: Channel Islands Harbor, Oxnard, California

Suzy Watkins, Tall Ships(R) Channel Islands, M. Rauworth

Special Recognition: Tall Ships Photographer Thad Koza

M. Rauworth, Alex Koza and Margaret Chapman

Lifetime Achievement Award: George Moffett 

Award winner George Moffett, with Alix Thorne



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s